The Media & Film department. From left: Gary Eastwood, Dan Hanlon, Debra Niessen, Eddie Wright, Rob Chadwick and Simon Brass.

by Scott Goodacre

A total of 11 awards for outstanding coursework were handed out on the night by VIP guests including Colne Valley MP Jason McCartney. There were four nominees for each award, with the winners of all but the Student Choice award being voted for by staff in the department. The winners were judged on their technical proficiency, creativity and ability to apply and manipulate genre conventions and representation issues.

The night started with a walk down the red carpet outside the New Theatre, complete with student ‘paparazzi’ and a showcase of the work students have produced throughout the year. Refreshments and official photographs were followed by the formal awards ceremony, at which the audience were entertained by music and dances from the movies by Performing Arts students.

Representatives from local companies including Capsule Films and national industry organisations including Creative England attended the event and were on hand to talk to students about their work.

The Student Choice award was won by Olivia Loker, who beat 350 other students to the prestigious prize. Bethany Loker, Olivia’s twin sister, also picked up an award for Best Storyboard.

Debra Niessen, head of Media and Film Studies, said: “We organised the event to celebrate the fantastic work that has been produced by students this year across a range of media formats, including print based marketing campaigns, music videos, TV shows and magazines.

“The launch of our BTEC Extended Diploma broadens the choices for students coming to New College, offering students a full time, hands on practical course and the opportunity to develop a range of technical and creative skills in response to real world media briefs.”

And the winners were:

AS Media: Best Storyboard Bethany Loker

AS Media: Best Print Marketing Campaign Amie Crowther-Bali

A2 Media: Best Print Marketing Campaign Laura Mallalieu

A2 Media: Best Video Production Rebecca Thompson

AS Film: Best Extended Step Outline Caitlyn McCarthy

A2 Film: Best Script Alice Barker

BTEC: Best Cinematography Lucy Storrie

BTEC: Best Editing Callum Phillips

BTEC: Best Music Video Alex Murray

BTEC: Best Director Corey Noel

Overall: Student Choice Award Olivia Loker